For my 37th anniversary (sic) my dear honey wife offers me a brand new ACER REVO 3610 with an Atom N330 with 2GB RAM and 320GB HD, running the full featured and beautifull new Windows 7 from our friends from Redmond Firm. Totaly excited, the Geek in me connect the « box » to its TV and VGA flat screen and start playing with the small « beast ».

Acer_aspire_revo_r3610-u9012_1
Playing HD video on a 40″Samsung LCD is incredible fluid and smooth ! Microsoft HD player work very weel. 
But but but, Windows 7 wifi Atheros drivers are not so powerfull and, due to low power of my Wifi Box, and due to long distance between it a the Revo, only (40% of power) prevent Wifi from well working 😦 and can’t connect without a « low connectivity » status.
ok.
Where is my Ubuntu USB key ?
Starting my Live Ubuntu 9.10 on the Revo and…  WHAT ?  all is working out of the box !  Including the not working Wifi in the Win7 OS  (due to long distance between my internet box and the Revo) !!
Ubuntu-910-screenshot
So, only listening to my heart, I decided to install Linux Ubuntu 9.10 in dual boot with Win7 (we never know…).
And cliking on the « Install Ubuntu on my Disk » icon onto the Live Desktop, I started the Quick Install process.
Reboot
And …
Freezing and blinking on the « old text mode » console, asking for user to logon.  but no keyboard and no mouse !
Digging the web with my laptop, i’ve found this very interresting post explaining how to install Ubuntu on the Revo with Boxee. And their is 2 most interresting things:
  • One is about HDMI Audio, about using the console version of the alsamixer to get it work by « un-muting » the « IEC958 1 » output canal. Without this activation, my Revo was mute !
    The alsamixer program
  • The second was in comments of this post, discribing the exact symptoms of my problem with the blinking screen: Don’t install from the Live desktop, but directly from the USB key initial menu, (second obtion in the displayed menu, just after selecting the prefered language).
So, I just have to restart the Ubuntu install process and it will work ?
All my hopes were based on these small comments, pray and re-install…
So after 2 tries, the good way consists in creating an USB key without persistance, and on menu of Usb live key, select direct « installation » (second item in the menu).

And it Rocks !!!

After first boot on the brand new install, install the last version of the NVIDIA driver and all work well, even the HD Video reading !

Just for your information, to install such driver, follow this short lines of commands:
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:nvidia-vdpau/ppasudo apt-key adv --keyserver keyserver.ubuntu.com --recv-keys CEC06767sudo apt-get updatesudo apt-get install nvidia-190-modaliases nvidia-glx-190  nvidia-settings-190
Then to install XBMC, just go and run this lines into a gnome-terminal:
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:team-xbmcsudo apt-get updatesudo apt-get install xbmc

Good luck, and have fun

Image:Home_-_Videos2.jpg

 

